Rolling Back to a Previous Software Version

There are scenarios in which you may want to roll back the controller software to a previous version.

Here are two:

  • You encounter issues during the software upgrade process and the controller cannot be upgraded successfully. In this scenario, you can only perform the software rollback from the controller CLI using the restore command. If you have a two-node controller cluster, run the restore command on one of the nodes to restore them to the previous software before attempting to upgrade them again. The restore command will trigger restore action on all nodes of the cluster if all nodes could be connected to each other. Confirm if each node can be restored back to the previous version. If any node does not roll back to the previous version, execute the restore command again on the failure node.
  • You prefer a previous software version to the newer version to which you have upgraded successfully. For example, you feel that the controller does not operate normally after you upgraded to the newer version and you want to restore the previous software version, which was more stable. In this scenario, you can perform the software rollback either from the controller web interface or the controller CLI. If you have a two-node controller cluster, you must have cluster backup on both of the nodes.

To ensure that you will be able to roll back to a previous version, RUCKUS strongly recommends the following before attempting to upgrade the controller software:

  • Always back up the controller before attempting a software upgrade. If you are managing a multi-node cluster, back up the entire cluster, and then verify that the backup process completes successfully. See Creating a Cluster Backup from the GUI for the local backup instructions. If you have a local backup and you want to roll back the controller to a previous software version, follow the same procedure described in Creating a Cluster Backup from the GUI.
  • If you have an FTP server, back up the entire cluster and upload the backup files from all the nodes in a cluster to a remote FTP server. See Backing Up to an FTP Server for remote backup instructions and Restoring from an FTP Server for remote restore instructions.

Rolling Back Using the CLI

To roll back using the CLI, run the command restore. Type the number of the cluster backup file to restore.

Restore Using the CLI

Note: Enter the restore command on any of the nodes of the cluster; this will trigger the restore to the whole cluster. If any node fails to restore, run the command one more time on that specific node.

Rolling Back Using the Web GUI

To roll back using the controller web GUI, in the main menu click Administration > Backup & Restore > Cluster. Select the cluster backup you want to restore and click Restore.

Restore Using the GUI