Deleting Local User Accounts
If the service
local-user-protection command is enabled and you try to delete a user
account, you will be prompted for confirmation to proceed. On confirmation, you
will
be prompted to provide the existing password. The attempt to delete a user account
is successful only if the correct password is provided.
When an account is deleted, all active login sessions for that user are terminated.
- AAA configuration specific to local authentication is removed.
- Unless at least one local user is present, the method "local" is unavailable in the AAA authentication-method list configuration. Refer to Authentication-Method Lists for more information on the authentication-method list.
In the following task, user accounts with various levels of authentication are deleted. All the steps are optional.
- Enter global configuration mode.
- Delete a user account with no password protection.
By default, a local user account can be deleted without any authentication.
- Delete a user account with encrypted password protection and local user protection
service. You are prompted for the current password after confirmation.
device(config)# no username user-mktg3 User already exists, Do you want to modify: (enter 'y' or 'n') y To modify or remove user, enter current password: ******
- Exit to Privileged EXEC mode.
- To verify that you have deleted the user accounts, display user account information
using the
show userscommand.