Rolling Back to a Previous Software Version
There are scenarios in which you may want to roll back the controller software to
a previous version.
Here are two:
- You encounter issues during the software upgrade
process and the controller cannot be upgraded successfully. In this scenario,
you can only perform the software rollback from the controller CLI using the
restorecommand. If you have a two-node controller cluster, run therestorecommand on one of the nodes to restore them to the previous software before attempting to upgrade them again. Therestorecommand will trigger restore action on all nodes of the cluster if all nodes could be connected to each other. Confirm if each node can be restored back to the previous version. If any node does not roll back to the previous version, execute therestorecommand again on the failure node. - You prefer a previous software version to the newer version to which you have upgraded successfully. For example, you feel that the controller does not operate normally after you upgraded to the newer version and you want to restore the previous software version, which was more stable. In this scenario, you can perform the software rollback either from the controller web interface or the controller CLI. If you have a two-node controller cluster, you must have cluster backup on both of the nodes.
To ensure that you will be able to roll back to a previous version, RUCKUS strongly recommends the following before attempting to upgrade the controller software:
- Always back up the controller before attempting a software upgrade. If you are managing a multi-node cluster, back up the entire cluster, and then verify that the backup process completes successfully. See Creating a Cluster Backup from the GUI for the local backup instructions. If you have a local backup and you want to roll back the controller to a previous software version, follow the same procedure described in Creating a Cluster Backup from the GUI.
- If you have an FTP server, back up the entire cluster and upload the backup files from all the nodes in a cluster to a remote FTP server. See Backing Up to an FTP Server for remote backup instructions and Restoring from an FTP Server for remote restore instructions.
Rolling Back Using the CLI
restore. Type the number of the cluster backup file to
restore.Rolling Back Using the Web GUI
To roll back using the controller web GUI, in the main menu click Administration > Backup & Restore > Cluster. Select the cluster backup you want to restore and click Restore.
%20Troubleshooting%20and%20Diagnostics%20Guide,%207.1.1%20Patch%201_v1_GUID-1FCE36E4-B9B1-4718-9615-92ABB5773795/Restore%20Using%20the%20CLI=GUID-B37DE9BC-D587-42D9-AF49-7C968A2E5917=1=en-US=Low.png)
%20Troubleshooting%20and%20Diagnostics%20Guide,%207.1.1%20Patch%201_v1_GUID-1FCE36E4-B9B1-4718-9615-92ABB5773795/Restore%20Using%20the%20GUI=GUID-9F95B3EC-333F-42E4-AD09-84ED948C965C=1=en-US=Low.png)