Performing the Upgrade
Consult the RUCKUS Support website on a
regular basis for updates that can be applied to your RUCKUS network devices.
Caution: Although the software upgrade
process has been designed to preserve all controller settings, RUCKUS strongly
recommends that you back up the controller cluster before performing an upgrade.
Having a cluster backup will ensure that you can easily restore the controller
system if the upgrade process fails for any reason. Upload the backup files from
all
the nodes in a cluster to a remote FTP server or download them from SZ web
interface.
Caution: RUCKUS strongly
recommends that you ensure that all interface cables are intact during the upgrade
procedure.
Caution: RUCKUS strongly
recommends that you ensure that the power supply is not disrupted during the upgrade
procedure.
Before starting this procedure, you should have already obtained a valid controller software upgrade file from RUCKUS Support or an authorized reseller.
- Copy the software upgrade file that you received from RUCKUS to the computer where you are accessing the controller web interface or to any location on the network that is accessible from the web interface.
- Select .
- From Upload, turn on Run Pre-Upgrade Validations. It triggers data migration validation during upload process.
- Click Browse to select the patch file.
- Click Upload to upload
the new image (.ximg file) to system. The controller uploads the file to its
database, and then performs the data migration verification. After the
verification is done, the Patch for Pending
Upgrades section is populated with information about the upgrade
file. If verification fails, the following error is displayed:
Exception occurred during the validation of data migration. Please apply the system configuration backup and contact system administrator.
- If the controller configuration upload is successful, click Backup & Upgrade to back up the controller cluster and system configuration before performing the upgrade.
When the upgrade (or backup-and-upgrade) process is complete, the controller logs you off the web interface automatically. When the controller login page is displayed again, you have completed upgrading the controller.