Backing up and Restoring a Switch List

RUCKUS Unleashed ICX switch management provides tools for performing a backup of the current ICX switch list and restore to a previously saved configuration backup file. Use the Backup ICX List and Restore ICX List options when you want to reset a switch to factory default settings to join a new RUCKUS Unleashed system.
Note: You can restore only the ICX switch list that is in the same mode (Dedicated, Bridge, or Gateway) as the backup ICX list. For example, if the new RUCKUS Unleashed system is in Dedicated mode, it cannot restore the ICX switch list that is in Bridge mode.
Use the following procedure to perform a backup and restore of the current switch configuration list:
  1. 200.15
    Expand the Switches dashboard component. Select Summary and click Backup ICX List.

    Backing up a Switch Configuration List

    When finished, all the ICX switches including the disconnected ICX switches are backed up and restored. The backup file is created as a .bak file that can be saved to your local computer.

  2. Save the backup file to a convenient location.
  3. To restore configuration settings from a previously saved backup file, select Summary and click Restore ICX List. Alternately, you can restore the switch list from the Admin & Services > Administration > Backup & Restore screen by selecting the Restore ICX Switches List option from the Restore Configuration section. Refer to Backup and Restore for more information.

    Restoring a Switch Configuration List

  4. In the Restore dialog box, click Browse and select a valid backup file.
  5. Click Restore.

    Restoring a Switch List from a Backup File

    A confirmation message appears notifying you to confirm the restore process.

    Switch Restore Confirmation Message

  6. Click Yes to confirm.

    The Restoring screen appears, notifying you that the restore process has begun. A progress bar shows the relative status of the restore process.

    Note: The restore process may take 10 minutes or more, during which time the Unleashed network may reboot and go temporarily out of service. Do not manually power off or reboot the switch.

    Switch Restore in Process

    When the process is finished, the restored switch list appears when you click the Summary box.