erase system factory-default

Wipes out the system settings and restore factory default settings.
Syntax
erase system factory-default
Modes

Global configuration mode

Usage Guidelines

Autocomplete is disabled for this CLI. You must manually key in the command. To prevent accidental execution of this command there are two levels of acceptance required from user. First, a warning message is displayed asking user for confirmation. Upon confirmation, a detailed warning message is displayed, prompting the user about various files which may be erased upon executing the command. The factory reset action is triggered, when you accept the warning. The switch will then detect the factory reset action and start performing the following actions:

  • If external USB plugged in, software will unmount it.
  • System will be set to same state as shipping out of factory i.e
    • Erase FI config
    • Erase boot config
    • Erase core files
    • Erase sys logs
    • Erase license Info
    • Erase license persistent
    • Erase license files (for XML license file)
  • System will auto reboot
  • The switch boots up with factory default settings. SAU license is restored to original license info present in original SKU info.
Note: On the 7150 and 7650 platforms restoring the factory default settings can also be initiated by pressing the reset button on the front panel. Refer to the platform Hardware Installation Guide for detailed instructions on the use of the reset button.

Examples

The following example wipes out the system settings and restores factory default settings.

device# erase system factory-default

“System will go for a reload. Please enter “y” to confirm “n” to exit”
Y
*************************************************************
* Factory Reset Alert *
*************************************************************
* Please pay attention to the details listed below *
* 1. uboot params will be erased, you might want to *
* backup the uboot params. *
* stop at uboot and do 'printenv' to read uboot params *
* 2. All configuration will be erased, you might want to *
* backup the running config (show running-config) *
* 3. Core Files, Logs will be erased *
* 4. SAU license is restored to original sku *
* use show license sau for more detials *
* 5. XML license is erased
* 6. System will go for a reload *
*************************************************************
*************************************************************
I have read the alert and factory reset can be performed now
Please enter 'y' to confirm, 'n' to exit :
*************************************************************

History
Release version Command history
08.0.80 This command was introduced.