Disabling VRRP backup preemption
VRRP backup preemption can be disabled to avoid route flapping when a backup VRRP
device that is acting as the master device could be preempted by another backup device
with a higher priority value.
A VRRP or VRRP-E session must be globally enabled using the
router vrrp or
router vrrp-extended command in global configuration mode.
- Enter interface configuration mode.
- Enter the IP address for the interface to be used for the virtual router ID (VRID).
- Enter the following command to enter the appropriate VRRP VRID mode.
- Enter the
non-preempt-modecommand to disable backup preemption.Even if a backup device has a higher priority than the current backup acting as a master device, the backup device will not assume the role of the VRRP master device.